TSW Theatre

鄧樹榮,MH (Medal of Honour) (榮譽勳章)

 


鄧樹榮生於香港,為劇場導演及戲劇教育家,從事專業劇場工作三十年,作品超過六十部,包括話劇、無言劇、舞劇及歌劇。媒體稱之為「香港最具才華的劇場導演之一」。其倡導的「從身體出發的簡約美學」,是香港當代劇場的重要品牌。他於2021年獲香港藝術發局頒發「傑出藝術貢獻獎」,以表揚他過去多年的卓越成就。

 

鄧氏早年在香港大學修讀法律,後負笈巴黎新索邦大學攻讀戲劇研究,深受形體劇場、舞蹈藝術及視覺藝術的影響;亦曾往印度靈修,領悟到劇場乃透過自我發現而認識人生的藝術。中英法印的多元文化背景及修養,使鄧氏的作品擁有一種融匯傳統與當代的獨特性。

 

鄧氏1997年創立劇團「無人地帶」,致力探索不同的劇場表達形式。執導的主要作品包括《三級女子殺人事件 》(1997),《真面目 》(1998) 、《解剖二千年》(1999),《我們互不相識的一小時 》(2000) 、《生死界》(2002) 及《死亡實驗室》 (2002)  ,成為當時劇場的一支新生力量 。

 

2004年,鄧氏出任香港演藝學院戲劇學院講師,短短五年間晉升至高級講師,編劇及導演系主任及戲劇學院院長。他期內執導的《菲爾德》(2005),《哈姆雷特》(2006) 及《帝女花》(2007) 不但培養了大批新演員,並為學院帶來多個獎項。

 

2011年,鄧氏離開香港演藝學院,成立「鄧樹榮戲劇工作室」,致力於跨界別及跨文化的創作,進一步把香港戲劇帶上國際舞台。他的無言動作喜劇《打轉教室》(中國內地稱為《教室也瘋狂 》),在歐亞共九個城市上演127場,觀眾達二萬五千人。他執導的舞劇《舞.雷雨 》,榮獲2013年「香港舞蹈年獎」三項大獎,先後巡演北京、上海、廣州、南京、台北及新加坡多個城市。其後,他以粵語演繹莎士比亞的《泰特斯》及《馬克白》,分別在20122015年登上倫敦的「環球劇場 」。《馬克白》在2017年在歐洲三個藝術節共六個城市巡演, 並於2019年改名為《麥克白的悲劇 》,被香港政府邀請,於大灣區(深圳及廣州)、「香港節2019──藝匯上海 」、香港駐武漢經貿辦專場及台北「香港周」上演。他的另一莎劇《泰特斯2.0》,首演於2009年,將簡約美學及形體劇場發揮到極致,巡演歐亞多個城市,至今仍然活躍於不少國際藝術節。鄧氏2015為香港藝術節導演的歌劇《大同》,在2017年被選為香港回歸20周年在倫敦亮相的重點節目。

 

他曾與北京的白光劇社合作,執導希臘劇《安提戈涅 》(2016) 及美國劇《戈登的手機》(2018),前者巡演國內多個城市,並獲國家大劇院邀請在其小劇場演出。

 

他創作之餘仍活躍於教學,分別於2018年及2021年兩度為香港演藝學院執導歌劇《荷夫曼的故事》及《伊多美尼奧》

 

2021年,他先後在香港執導了《兩夫妻》,《超自然之戀》及全女班無言莎劇《李爾王》,不斷探討形體美學如何應用在不同風格的劇場作品。

 

2023年一月即將為香港歌劇院執導歌劇《波希米亞人》。

 

「鄧樹榮戲劇工作室」於2019年被香港藝術發展局選為「優秀藝團」,成業界典範。並與香港藝術中心合作於2020年十一月舉辦首屆香港國際莎劇節 (因疫情延至2022年秋天),成為透過莎士比亞共同的文化遺產向國際展現香港劇場精英的里程碑。

 

鄧氏的理論著作《梅耶荷德表演理論:研究及反思 》 、《泰特斯:簡約美學與形體劇場》及《書寫塞納河開始————我對劇場的思辨與演繹 》 ,繼續以文字分享其創作經驗。

 

鄧氏扶掖後進亦不遺餘力,於2014年成立「專業形體戲劇青年訓練課程」,至今已培育超過二百人。鄧氏熱心公益,曾任康樂及文化事務署、香港藝術發展局榮譽顧問及西九文化區諮詢會委員。他現為香港舞蹈團的榮譽藝術顧問,香港藝術中心節目委員會及港台文化委員會委員。他亦積極投入社區劇場,2019獲香港賽馬會慈善基金支持,在香港羅湖女子懲教署以戲劇為在囚人士作更生活動。

 


 



鄧氏曾獲的獎項包括1993年塔什干國際戲劇節優異演繹獎,1993年香港舞台劇獎優異另類演出獎,1997年亞洲文化協會謝普誠獎助金,2003年香港舞台劇獎最佳男主角獎(/正劇),三屆(2006, 0711)香港舞台劇獎最佳導演獎,2008年藝術發展局藝術成就獎(戲劇)2012年廣州南方都市報「深港生活大獎」之「年度藝文人物獎」,2013年香港舞蹈年獎最值得表揚劇作指導獎及香港藝術發展局「年度最佳藝術家獎」(戲劇)2007年香港特區政府民政事務局局長嘉許獎狀,2007年法國文化部「藝術及文學軍官勳章」,2010年《瞄》雜誌「文化大件事」獎,2012年香港特區政府行政長官社區服務獎狀,2013年香港嶺南大學榮譽院士,2017年香港演藝學院榮譽院士,2018年羅馬尼亞Undercloud Festival卓越獎,2019年香港藝術中心「藝術榮譽獎」,2020年香港特區政府榮譽勳章,2022年分別憑《李爾王》和《超自然之戀》獲IATC (HK) 2021劇評人獎「年度導演獎」及Grand Prix France Hong Kong 2022「文化藝術獎」。2015年他更被英國Debrett's選為香港100個最有影響力的其中一人。

TSW Theatre

Tang Shu-wing, MH (Medal of Honour)

Born in Hong Kong, Tang is a theatre director and educator​, having worked in professional theatre for 30 years. He has done more than 60 works, including spoken drama, non-verbal theatre, dance drama and opera. Tang is hailed by the media as "one of the most talented theater directors in Hong Kong". Minimalist aesthetics and physical theatre that Tang advocated have become a brand of contemporary theatre in Hong Kong. In 2021, he was awarded the Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council to acknowledge his achievement in past decades.

Tang studied laws in Hong Kong in early years; then he studied Theatre Studies in ​the ​Université de la Sorbonne Nouvelle​ in Paris. He was strongly influenced by physical theatre, dance as well as visual arts and​ used to go to India to experience spiritual formation. His multi-cultural background very often blends both traditional and contemporary elements in his works.

Tang founded No Man’s Land in 1997, a fresh blood at that time, aiming to explore different theatre expression. He directed “Three Women in Pearl River Delta” (1997), “Face” (1998), “Millennium Autopsy” (1999), “The Hour We Knew Nothing of Each Other” (2000), “Between Life and Death” (2002) and “Deathwatch” (2002). 

Between 2004 and 2011, Tang worked in the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA) and got promoted from Lecturer, to Senior Lecturer, Head of Directing and Playwriting and Dean of the School of Drama within 5 years​.​ During this period, he directed, among others, “Phaedra” (2005), “Hamlet” (2006) and “Princess Chang Ping” (2007) and trained lots of new performers for the industry. His works also brought many awards for the institution.

In 2011, Tang left the HKAPA and founded Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio, which aims to create cross-disciplinary and cross-cultural works, further promoting Hong Kong’s theatre to international stages. “Detention” (2011), a non-verbal comedy, was staged 127 times in 9 cities in Europe and Asia, reaching 25000 people. His dance drama “Thunderstorm” (2012) received 3 major awards in the Hong Kong Dance Awards in 2013, embarking tours in Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Nanjing, Taipei and Singapore. Afterwards, he presented “Titus Andronicus” and “Macbeth” in Cantonese at the Shakespeare’s Globe in London in 2012 and 2015 respectively. “Macbeth” toured 6 European cities in 2017. In 2019, it was presented in The Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area Culture and Arts Festival, Festival Hong Kong 2019 – A Cultural Extravaganza@Shanghai, a special performance at Wuhan, as well as “Hong Kong Week” in Taipei. “Titus Andronicus 2.0” (2009), a well embodiment of physical theatre and minimalist aesthetics, is still on international tour. He directed the opera “Datong” in the 2015 Hong Kong Arts Festival, which was shown as a highlight in London as part of the 20th Anniversary of HK's handover to China.

Tang has collaborated with Beijing’s Baiguang Theatre Studio and created the Greek tragedy “Antigone” (2016) and the American play “Dead Man’s Cell Phone”(2018). The former toured many cities in China and was invited to be shown in the theatre studio of the National Centre for the Performing Arts in Beijing.

As part of his passion for education, he directed two operas for the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts: “Les Contes d'Hoffmann” and Idomeneo in 2018 and 2021 respectively.

In 2021, he directed “Scenes from a Marriage”, “Larger Than Life” and an all-female non-verbal “King Lear” as part of his continuous research on how the body works in different theatrical styles.

He is going to direct “La Bohème” for Opera Hong Kong in May, 2022.

In 2019, Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio was selected by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council as an Eminent Arts Group, confirming its leading position in the industry. The Studio curated the 1st Hong Kong International Shakespeare Festival in Nov, 2020 (postponed to  autumn 2022 because of the pandemic) with the Hong Kong Arts Centre, establishing a milestone of presenting Hong Kong’s theatrical works to the world via Shakespeare’s common cultural heritage.

Tang’s publications, “Analysis and Reflections on the Theories of Acting of Meyerhold”, “Titus Andronicus — Approach in Minimalistic Aesthetics & Physical Theatre” and “Detention — Out of Curiosity”, continue to share his creative experience with others through writing.

Tang puts great effort in training the next generation and cares for the public good through arts. He established the "Professional Physical Theatre Youth Training Programme" in 2014, which has trained over 200 students until today. He has served in a number of public bodies such as Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Consultation Panel of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority and the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (HKADC). He is currently an Artistic Advisor of Hong Kong Dance Company, member of the Arts Programme Committee of Hong Kong Arts Centre and Hong Kong-Taiwan Cultural Co-operation Committee. He is also active in community theatre. With the support of the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, he initiated a rehabilitation programme through drama in 2019 for the persons in custody in the Correctional Institute of Lo Wu.


Tang’s major awards include Distinguished Interpretative Performance in the Tashkent International Theatre Festival (1993), Outstanding Alternative Performance in the Hong Kong Drama Awards (1993), Jebsen Fellowship of the Asian Cultural Council (1997), Best Actor in a Leading Role in the Hong Kong Drama Awards (2003), Three times Best Director (2006, 2007 and 2011) in the Hong Kong Drama Awards, Award for Arts Achievement (Drama) by the HKADC (2008), the ‘Arts and Cultural Figure of the Year' of the ‘Shenzhen and Hong Kong Lifestyle Award' presented by The Guangzhou Southern Metropolis Daily (2012), the Outstanding Achievement in Direction for Dance Award of the Hong Kong Dance Awards (2013), the Best Artist of the Year Award (Drama) of the HKADC (2013), Certificate of Commendation by the Secretary of the Home Affairs Bureau (2007), l’Officier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication (2007), ‘The Next Big Things’ by the Magazine ‘Muse’ (2010), the Chief Executive’s Commendation for Community Service Award (2012), Honorary Fellow of Lingnan University of Hong Kong (2013), Honorary Fellow of HKAPA (2017), Excellence Award by the Undercloud Festival of Romania(2018), Hong Kong Arts Centre’s Honorary Fellowship (2019), Medal of Honour by HKSAR (2020). He was even selected as 100 most influential people in Hong Kong by British Debrett’s in 2015.